Skip to content

Flag burning – Crime or Free Speech?

June 24, 2014

I am a proud American.  I own an American flag.  I fly it proudly on various days throughout the year.  I stand at the singing of the National Anthem.  I bow my head during a moment of silence.

Why then, do I consider it a crime, and not free speech, to burn the American flag?  Personally, I find it very offensive, especially when done on American soil.

  • Some say it contradicts free speech.  No one said you couldn’t speak your mind … but you don’t need to burn my flag.
  • Some say it’s a way to voice your displeasure about the government.  No one said you couldn’t voice your displeasure (heaven knows I agree) … but you don’t need to burn my flag.
  • Some say it’s just cloth.  No one said you can’t destroy your belongings … but you don’t need to burn my flag.

Congress has determined that it is covered by THE FIRST AMENDMENT (freedom of speech).

  • Do you realize that it’s considered a slap in the face for Veterans?
  • Do you realize that if you hate the country that much, please, just leave?
  • Do you realize that to enable someone’s right to burn it, it disables someone’s right to respect it?

With July 4th nearly upon us, I would love to hear your thoughts …

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

