Skip to content

Yes, it’s time for better Design Reviews

June 11, 2014

I am still amazed when I hear, “Wow, that’s a problem; no one anticipated that.”  Really?!?

How can that be (I say to myself) when all you have to do is have a Design Review with those Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) that can contribute design solutions … before they happen?

Just the other day, we encountered a non-properly-functioning part.  No one anticipated the results, or so the story went.  I (being the new guy to the group) just noticed the problem, and said:

“Of course there’s a problem … look … what we could do it this …”

Have you ever run across this?

One of the hardest part of a Designer’s job is admit that their design could be better.  I still remember the day when another Designer said:

“Hey, look at my part, isn’t it sexy?”

Of course it is … but, does it work?  Functionality must precede looks.  Trust me on this.  😉

As I’ve gotten older, and more experienced, I’ve come to really understand that:

“I know that two heads are better than one. I know that five heads are better than two” ~ Helen Hunt

Here’s some tips that should help:

  • Know your customer
  • Know your scope of what you’re trying to accomplish
  • Expect the unexpected
  • Always design for worse case conditions
  • Solicit ideas for improving the product’s performance
  • Defend your product and it’s capability
  • Have Design Reviewers choose the best solution from multiple possible solutions
  • Listen to all ideas; none are stupid

– Thx ATF

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

