Skip to content

How has Success been Redefined for Today’s Professional?

May 9, 2011

I attended a workshop this morning on “success” that was given by Victoria Trafton of the Referral Marketing Institute. I learned some very valuable things about me, that I wanted to share with you. It was a discussion on SUCCESS (and how it’s) REDEFINED FOR TODAY’S PROFESSIONAL.

We started by listing 3 things in our lives that made us feel successful. Collectively, we agreed that success comes from recognition of value from someone else.

Next, we attempted to choose our values for success in our lives. Out of 40 or so things, we were tasked with choosing the top 10 values, then 3, then the highest value. Granted, there are more than 40 values in the world, but we were working with 40. My top 3 happen to be Creativity, Generosity, and Meaning, with Meaning taking the top spot. I guess I need to have what I do mean something, which is probably true for most folks.

Then, we had an exercise on Discovering your Talent and Expressing it through Work. I found out that I love to provide meaning. People ask me to solve problems. My biggest contribution is accepting and owning tasks that are given to me. My biggest reward is the “thank you” at the end of the job.

Lastly, we discussed how we wanted to be remembered, such as leaving a legacy. We were asked to list 4 people who made us feel successful in the past, then put one word that they would say about you. I came up with these:

  1. The Best
  2. Dependable
  3. Capable
  4. Supportive
I would highly recommend Victoria.  She can be reached at 480.473.3380 to find out more about identifying your unique talent and work-related passions.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

