Skip to content

What’s the First Thing that goes into a Backpacking Survival Kit?

May 7, 2010

  How about including a Positive Survival Mental Attitude?  I bet you thought I was going to say something like a Swiss Army knife, duct tape, or matches, huh?  🙂   It’s that time of the year again, and I was going through my Camp List checklist.  I ran across this saying, that I always found to be a good mental reminder.

Did you know a person can live for:

  • 3 minutes without air.
  • 3 hours without shelter.
  • 3 days without water.
  • 3 weeks without food.

I’ve done the first 2, and wouldn’t want to be exposed to the last 2.  People who know me, know that food is an every 3 hour thing for me, but not 3 weeks!  But, if you’re going out in the great outdoors, plan for the worst, and hope for the best.  See you at the trailhead…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

